From the wide range of criminal offenses, we focus on the following:
In Washington State, a driver can be charged for driving under the influence of alcohol if their driving appears to be affected, if he or she drove with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher, or if the driver is affected by intoxicating liquor or drugs.
A driving under the influence (DUI) allegation has far-reaching consequences. Once the wheels are in motion, the Department of Licensing (DOL) may suspend the driver’s license for a period of time, and the driver may be required to only drive vehicles with an ignition interlock device. The DOL has also shortened the period of time a driver has to request a hearing to appeal this license suspension.
Do not wait to consult an attorney, even if your charge has not been filed. A skilled attorney can not only guide you through this process but strategize on the best way to get from Arraignment, Pretrial Hearings, to Motions Hearings and Trial. We find that clients are in the best position when they contact us immediately after the arrest. Contact us so that we can develop a tailored plan to start setting up your defense.
Ignition Interlock Violations
DUI convictions often come with ignition interlock device requirements. Violations of this court order can result in significant jail time. These types of cases require examination of procedural and technical issues. We can help. Contact us immediately if you have been charged with an ignition interlock violation.
Assault 4 is a gross misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a $5000 fine. Assault is an intentional touching of another person that is harmful or offensive to that person, regardless of whether any physical injury is done to that person. If the act is done with the intent to create fear of bodily injury, then the actor can be charged and convicted of assault.
Assault 4 DV (domestic violence) is an assault against a family member or significant other. Under Washington state law, if law enforcement is dispatched, and there is an assault allegation, they are required to arrest the “primary aggressor”.
An assault allegation can have devastating consequences. A court will likely impose a no-contact order against the alleged perpetrator. Additionally, the court could require costly treatment.
Assault allegations can also be improperly employed in family law cases where custody is in dispute. It is essential to hire a knowledgeable attorney that can thoroughly investigate this type of charge and uncover any ulterior motives.
The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can put together a strategy to minimize the impacts of an assault charge.
Violation of No Contact Order
No contact orders are typically granted as part of a pending criminal charge or a civil protection order, and they prohibit contact with the protected party. If there is an alleged violation of a no-contact order while a related case is pending, it can make the originating case much harder to defend. If an officer has probable cause to believe the respondent or defendant has violated a no-contact order issued by the court, the officer will make an arrest without a warrant. Violation of a no-contact order is a gross misdemeanor, and the violator faces a maximum of 364 days in jail and $5000 fine. These types of cases require a carefully tailored defense that is unique to each individual case. If you have been charged or accused of violating a no-contact order, contact us immediately. We can help.
Theft charges require a thorough investigation and strategic defense. Theft is wrongfully obtaining or exerting unauthorized control over the property or services of another, or the value thereof, with the intent to deprive him or her of such property or services. RCW 9A.56.020(1)(a).
The degree of a theft charge depends on the value of the goods allegedly stolen. If the value of goods in question is more than $750, the charge will be filed as a felony.
Theft charges can also present consequences beyond the criminal justice system. A theft charge can negatively affect employment and also result in unfavorable immigration consequences. With the right defense, a misdemeanor theft charge can often be resolved without a conviction. If you have been charged or accused of theft, contact us immediately.
Malicious Mischief charges arise when a person “knowingly and maliciously causes physical damage to the property of another” RCW 9A.48.090(b). The degree of malicious mischief depends on the value of the property in question. If the value of goods is more than $750, the charge will be filed as a felony.
With the right defense, a malicious mischief charge can often be resolved without a conviction. If you have been charged or accused of malicious mischief, contact us immediately.
Hit and Run
There are two categories of hit and run crimes in Washington: Hit and Run “Attended” and Hit and Run “Unattended”. Every driver in Washington has a duty to stop at the scene of an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Hit and Run Attended
If a driver is involved in an accident involving a pedestrian or a vehicle, the driver has a duty to stop, remain at the scene, and exchange information. Hit and Run Attended is a gross misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of a $5000 fine and a maximum of 364 days in jail. A Hit and Run Attended conviction has an additional penalty; the Department of Licensing will revoke the driver’s license for 1 year.
Hit and Run Unattended
If a driver is involved in an accident with another vehicle or property, the driver has a duty to stop and notify the owner of the vehicle or property of the collision and leave their contact information. The information must be left in a conspicuous place. Hit and Run Unattended is a simple misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of a $1000 fine and 90 days in jail.
Prosecutors take hit and run cases very seriously, so it’s important to start preparing your defense right away. If you’re accused of a crime, contact us.
People tend to think that if they go to court and explain to the judge what happened, and why the ticketing officer is wrong, then everything will work out. But it won’t, because the court doesn’t care about the why. An experienced attorney will thoroughly evaluate a ticket for procedural, legal, and technical issues to keep a ticket off a driver’s record.
PLEASE NOTE: Drivers must respond with one of the following options within 15 days from the date of citation, or any moving violations will be reported to the Department of Licensing (DOL), and the DOL will suspend the driver’s license.
- Pay the ticket. This option may seem best, but depending on the type of ticket you received, the infraction may go on your driving record. We don’t recommend you pay the ticket without contacting us first.
- Ask for a mitigation hearing.At this hearing, you can explain the circumstances behind your traffic infraction. Mitigation means that you admit the infraction occurred. Even if the judge lowers your penalty, your ticket may affect your driving record.
- Request a contested hearing. You might ask for this type of hearing to challenge everything about your ticket. By fighting an infraction on legal, procedural, and technical issues, often the ticket will not affect a driver’s record. If your ticket is a moving violation, we recommend that you select the contested hearing option every time.
Contact us right away, and we can discuss what options you have.
Expungements/ Vacating Criminal Convictions
Convictions may be vacated if the convicted person meets certain criteria to have the conviction removed from his or her record. Sometimes this process is referred to as “expungements”. In Washington, expungements only apply to arrests that resulted in non-conviction data. If you want to clean up conviction records, you will want to file a motion to vacate your conviction.
Should I vacate my conviction?
Vacating a conviction is an amazing way to give yourself a fresh start with a clean record. Once a conviction has been vacated, you can legally state that you have not been convicted of that crime. This may be helpful if a person is subject to background checks for employment, housing, and some types of loans.
Am I eligible to vacate my conviction?
There are some differences in eligibility requirements that depend on the type of conviction. Generally, all financial obligations must have been paid, all other terms of a sentence must have been completed, and a set number of years must have passed with the person being crime free. It is important to note that certain crimes can never be vacated.
If you have any questions about eligibility, we can help! Contact us for a full case analysis.