Is a driving under the influence (DUI) a crime in Washington (WA)?
DUI, otherwise known as driving under the influence, is a crime in Washington state. It is a gross misdemeanor. A gross misdemeanor is punishable by a maximum of 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. A DUI also has mandatory minimum penalties, depending on the type of DUI. The department of licensing (DOL) will also suspend or revoke your license, depending on the type of DUI you are charged with. Contact us if you’ve been arrested or charged for a DUI, and we can offer you a strategy to immediately start fighting your case!