What should I do if I get a speeding ticket in Washington?
If you get a speeding ticket in Washington, you must do one of the following within 15 days of receiving the ticket.
- You can pay the fine on the notice of infraction. If you pay the fine for a speeding ticket, the infraction will go on your driving record as a moving violation. A moving violation may raise your insurance rates. We don’t recommend this option.
- You can ask for a mitigation hearing. If you check this option, you are admitting that you committed the infraction, but want to explain the circumstances to the judge in order to try to get your fine reduced. We don’t recommend this option either, because a mitigated ticket is still a committed finding, and it will still appear on your driving record as a moving violation.
- You can ask for a contested hearing. If you check this option, you are requesting a hearing to challenge the speeding ticket. We recommend this option, but we do not recommend that you try to challenge the ticket by yourself. At a contested hearing, the court will consider technical, procedural, and legal arguments. A skilled attorney can keep this ticket from appearing as a moving violation on your driving record.
Also, if you’ve missed the 15 day window, contact us as soon as possible. We might be able to fix your late response with the court and preserve your right to fight your ticket!